Author Archives: Rodriguez Bail Bonds

How do theft charges work?

man breaking into a car

What are theft charges?

Theft is when a person takes something that doesn’t belong to them without the owner’s permission or if they otherwise don’t have a legal right to do so. The rightful owner then files a police report, and law enforcement finds the accused thief and arrests them on theft charges

So what are theft charges? Theft charges are the legal repercussion of taking something belonging to another person without their consent or for any legal reason, with no intention of returning the property. There are several types of theft and there are different levels of theft charges in varying degrees of severity with as many degrees of punishment. 

What happens when theft charges are filed?

Contrary to what is seen on television, private citizens cannot press theft charges against another person. A private citizen can only file a police report, and from there, law enforcement has certain avenues they can take that may result in the accused person being arrested on theft charges. Written notice may also be mailed advising a person they will need to appear in court to face theft charges.

Whether a person has an arrest warrant issued for theft charges or a written notice of theft charges filed will typically depend on the type of theft involved. The most common types of theft charges are: 

  • Petty Theft 
  • Grand Theft
  • Robbery
  • Armed Robbery
  • Embezzlement
  • Fraud
  • Shoplifting
  • Receipt of Stolen Property
  • Theft by Check
  • Car Theft

In most cases of minor theft charges, a misdemeanor or a court summons is sent by mail. For serious charges, like a felony, an arrest warrant is issued. For a mailed court summons, if the person named doesn’t appear, an arrest warrant will be issued. Once an arrest warrant is issued for either a misdemeanor or felony theft charge, the person can be arrested at any time, and at any place. 

Whether you appear voluntarily as per a written notice or you are arrested on theft charges, the first legal step is the arraignment, wherein a judge will read the theft charges you are facing. The judge will ask you how you wish to plea, either guilty or not guilty. 

At this point, having legal counsel is recommended to help guide you through the process. Pleading guilty can lead to an entirely different process versus pleading not guilty depending on what theft charges you face. After the initial charges have been filed the judge will rule if you are to go directly to jail or offer a bail amount to be released. 

Next, legal counsel will exchange evidence with the prosecuting attorney and your legal counsel will begin their investigation. The goal of this investigation is to find weaknesses in the theft charges that can result in the outcome of the court’s decision. 

What is the punishment for theft?

The punishment for theft all depends on the level of the theft charges, the arrested person’s criminal background, and other surrounding circumstances at the time of the arrest. For example, the punishment typical of theft charges for shoplifting will depend on the value of the property stolen: 

  • Value between $500 and $2,000 is a Class B misdemeanor. In Texas, this is punishable by a $2,000 fine and a maximum of 180 days in jail. 
  • Value between $750 and $2,500 is a Class A misdemeanor. In Texas, this is punishable by a $4,000 fine and maximum of 12 months in jail.
  • Value of stolen property or services between $500 and $1,499 can face punishment of a maximum fine of $4,000 and jail time up to 12 months. 
  • Theft charges for property or services between $1,500 and $19,999 is a felony and the defendant is sentenced to state jail. 

 A person arrested on identity theft charges will face a different level of possible punishment. The rise in identity theft has motivated states to institute stiffer penalties.  In Texas, identity theft charges can be punished as follows: 

  • A minimum of 180 days up to two years in jail time with a maximum fine of $10,000
  • A minimum of 2 years to a maximum of 10 years jail time with a fine up to $10,000 for a 3rd degree theft charges resulting in a felony 

What is the difference between theft vs grand theft? 

In Texas, grand theft charges are not all the same, but typically if the property value stolen exceeds $500, it could be considered grand theft. The type of theft will determine if the exact charge will be for grand theft charges or for a misdemeanor theft charge. 

For example, a grand theft auto charge in Texas is punishable based on the value of the car stolen. The penalties can range for a minimum of 180 days to a maximum of 10 years in jail with a maximum fine of $10,000. The punishment of grand theft charges in Texas when an automobile is taken can be enhanced if a firearm was used during the theft, or if the defendant has prior felony convictions. 

Is extortion a form of theft?

In the state of Texas, yes.  While there isn’t any fear of immediate physical harm with this type of theft, extortion is considered blackmail, which can lead the accused to face theft charges.

close-up of a woman shoplifting

When All Is Said and Done 

You’ve been arrested on theft charges and arraigned. What if you’re not guilty though? Can you get theft charges dropped? If you have been wrongly accused of theft and the prosecution cannot provide evidence that supports the theft charges, yes, the theft charges will be dropped. If your defense attorney can prove to the jury beyond a reasonable doubt the theft charges are wrong or can present an entrapment defense, the theft charges will be dropped.

When You’re Arrested for a Misdemeanor

Closeup of hands in handcuffs.

Understanding Misdemeanors

In the State of Texas, misdemeanor charges aren’t anything to take lightly. While they may not be as serious as a felony, they can still have consequences, starting with creating a criminal background. That being said, is a misdemeanor bad?

Any type of arrest and the resulting criminal charges are not good, but misdemeanor charges are not as serious as a felony charge. Misdemeanor crimes vary in how they are prosecuted in Texas and should always be considered a serious matter to the offender. There could be possible jail time, but not state penitentiary time, along with fines. 

 What is a misdemeanor charge? 

Examples of misdemeanor charges in Texas could include any of the following: 

Class A Misdemeanor: 12 months in county jail with a $4,000 fine for Burglary, theft of $500 to $1500 value property; theft of cable TV service; stalking another person without bodily injury.
Class B Misdemeanor: 180 days in county jail with $2,000 fine for Theft of $20 to $500 property value; DWI; marijuana possession up to 4 ounces; making terrorist threats.
Class C Misdemeanor: $500 fine for $20 or less property theft; assault without injury; producing and selling reports or term papers; attending dog fights.

How much is a bond for a misdemeanor? 

It’s pretty common knowledge when you’re arrested, you’ll have to post bond to be released. What we don’t know is the amount of the bail and how that amount is determined. Each offense, felony or minor charges will have a different amount based on the severity level of the crime, the accused criminal background, and other circumstances. 

The lowest level of a criminal offense is Class C misdemeanor charges. In Texas, the accused can be punished with a maximum fine of $500.00 with no bail set. 

Class B misdemeanor charges can be punished by a maximum fine of $2,000, a maximum of 180 days in county jail, or both fine and jail time. Bail bond for misdemeanor charges can range from $100 and up to $8,000. 

Do you get your bail money back if charges are dropped?

Yes, if the defendant doesn’t miss any court ordered appearances, including blood draws, they will get their bail money back. The purpose of bail in the state of Texas is to encourage defendants to make those court ordered appearances. 

Can a misdemeanor be dismissed?

In an attempt to keep from overcrowding our jail system, there are several counties in the State of Texas with pre-trial diversion programs. These can often result in misdemeanor charges being dismissed. An attorney will need to file for this motion. 

What is the punishment for a misdemeanor battery charge or misdemeanor assault charges?

In the state of Texas, a judge can dispense penalties for assault and battery misdemeanor charges as follows: 

  • A conviction for Class C misdemeanor charges of assault and battery can be fined $500 maximum
  • A conviction for Class B misdemeanor charges  of assault and battery can result in a jail time maximum of  180 days in addition to a maximum fine of $2000.
  • A conviction for  Class A misdemeanor charges of assault and battery can have a maximum of 12 months in jail and a maximum fine of $4000.

What is considered misdemeanor theft? 

When faced with misdemeanor charges for theft in Texas, there are possible legal repercussions that you seek the services of a criminal defense attorney. They will help you navigate the legal jungle and help you present your case in your favor.  What constitutes misdemeanor charges for theft are: 

  • Class C Misdemeanor Charges of Theft

For a maximum value of $100 stolen property, a fine of $500 maximum and no jail time. 

  • Class B Misdemeanor Charges of Theft

A value of $50 to  $500 of stolen property, a fine up to $2,000 and a maximum jail time of 6 months. 

  • Class A Misdemeanor  Charges of Theft

A value between $500 and $1,500, a fine up to $4,000 and jail time of 12 months. 

There are exceptions to these misdemeanor charges with the value of theft that includes a firearm or livestock. These are upgraded to state jail felony status and the defendant is required to pay restitution, a civil penalty of $1,000, in addition to the standard fine and jail time as listed. 

Closeup of judge's gavel.

Closing Question – What is the range for misdemeanor drug charge? 

In the state of Texas, marijuana has a different category than other drug charges. In Texas, small amounts of marijuana possession can face misdemeanor charges as follows: 

  • Up to 2 ounces, a maximum of 180 days jail time and $2,000 fine. 
  • Between 2 and 4 ounces, a maximum of 12 months jail time and $4,000 fine. 

Regardless of the amount of marijuana, it is still considered a crime in Texas, unlike other states that have made it legal to some extent.  It is best to acquire the services of a criminal attorney with experience in drug charges to help you through the legal process and help you get the best results possible. Regardless of why you may need help, if you’re facing misdemeanor charges in Weslaco, TX you can start getting the help you need by calling Rodriguez Bail Bonds at .

How Much Is Bail For A Felony?

arrest and gavel

How long do police have to charge you?

When a person is arrested, they aren’t charged with anything until the prosecution files the petition in court. It is then it is determined if the charges are a felony or misdemeanor. Then the accused is arraigned before a judge and if the charges were filed as a felony, the judge will set the felony bail amount.

First, we need to clarify that the police “arrest” a person, they do not declare the charges and how to prosecute. That is left up to the prosecutor, also referred to as the District Attorney. The prosecuting office has a statute of limitations they must adhere to as to how long they have to file formal charges. Once the formal charges are announced, the arrested is presented before the judge for arraignment and the felony bail set is announced.

The statute of limitations has a set time limit for several reasons, with one to assure each case from an arrest is handled with efficiency and importance. The time limit will also maintain the integrity of evidence and eyewitness testimony. This time limit is essential in felony cases as the evidence and eyewitnesses can become compromised and unreliable if the process takes too long.  Examples of crimes that may have felony bail set and no time limit for the charges to be made are:

  • Murder
  • Manslaughter
  • Certain sexual assaults
  • Death from a hit and run
  • Certain human trafficking offenses.
  • Compelling prostitution to a child under 18 years old

Does bail mean you have been charged?

Yes, in Texas, In Texas, when the arrested is arraigned and the judge sets bail, the formal charges are in place at that time. The judge will declare the bail amount and  determine if it is felony bail or misdemeanor bail. The defendant must post bail in one of several ways before they can be released.

Depending on several factors, the judge may deny bail. Those factors include the circumstances of the arrest and the charges filed, the criminal background of the arrested,  and defendant’s current demeanor  toward the court can play a big part in bail being denied.

What crimes allow bail?

A felony crime is considered the most severe crime of all, many will include an act of violence. Some examples of common felonies include:

  • Grand Larceny
  • Grand Theft
  • Physical Assault
  • Destruction of Property
  • Arson
  • Rape
  • Murder

A person that has been charged for any of these crimes will have felony bail set by a judge. That bail must be paid in full by cash or bail bond.

How long can you be kept on bail for?

In most states, a defendant can held up to 120 days while awaiting bail to be posted. The seriousness of the charges can affect this time, with a person of respectable position vouching for the defendant can make it easier to acquire bail for a longer period of time.

man arrested

How much is bail for a felony theft?

In Texas, felony bail amounts can range from $1,500 and up to $5,000 and up. Some examples of different the felony degrees and their bail amounts are:

  • State Jail Felony: These crimes include DWI with a child passenger, check forgery,  theft of property valued between $2,500 to $30,000 the felony bail amounts are between $500 and up to $1,500.
  • Third Degree Felony: The crimes in this category deadly conduct with a firearm, indecent exposure to a child, stalking, a third DWI, or intoxication assault. Felony bail amounts are range from $1,500 and up to $5,000.
  • Second Degree Felony: The crimes include this category include aggravated assault, intoxication manslaughter, sexual assault, robbery, or possession of marijuana in quantity of 50 to 2,000 pounds. Felony bail amount ranges between $2,500 and up to $50,000.
  • First Degree Felony: The crimes in this category include aggravated robbery, attempted murder, sexual assault against a child, or arson of a residential building resulting in death. The felony bail amounts can range between $5,000 and  $100,000.
  • Capital Felony: The crime of this category normally includes premeditated murder.  Espionage or treason can be charged as a capital felony as well. The felony bail amount can start at $500,000 and up or denied bail may be ruled by the judge.

How much is bond for a felony drug charge?

As we stated earlier, there are factors that determine the bail amount set by the judge for misdemeanor or felony bail.  The bond amount is typically 10% of the bail amount and is up to a bail bond agent if they are willing to take the risk. For felony bail, the percentage may be higher. The bail bond agent will consider what conditions a judge has established with the bail amount as well, such as electronic monitoring or any restrictions like geographical and others.

How much is bail for felony burglary?

On the low end of bail amounts, $25,000 is the typical amount for robbery charges, including 2nd-degree robbery and robbery of controlled dangerous substances. First-degree robbery bail is typically set at $100,000 bail and second-degree robbery bail is $50,000. If a firearm is used in the robbery, or any type of force was used, the bail amount increases to $50,000 minimum. If the defendant has a previous felony, the bail is set to $100,000 or more.

What is the average bail for a felony?

Felony bail will typically start at $5,000 and go up, depending on the actual charge, the defendant’s criminal record and other factors.

Can bail be dropped?

At the bail hearing, if the case is delayed, the bail may be reduced, or if the defendant’s attorney requests a bail hearing for a bond reduction or a writ of habeas corpus, which an outline must be submitted with that request why they bail should be lowered.  Supporting evidence should be presented at this hearing and the defending attorney should be prepared for any arguments the prosecutor may present. Need help with your bail in Weslaco, TX? Call today!

What Are Immigration Bail Bonds?

immigration bail

Immigration and bail

Immigration is a big focus for America right now, and that has brought more attention to immigration bail bonds and other issues regarding illegal citizens. Because of most of those arrested as being illegal can’t speak English, and many of the local State Department employees are not able to speak Spanish, or any second language, the communication is challenging. 

In this piece today, we’re going to answer a few basic questions that could help many that have found themselves asking about how immigration bail bonds work and the biggest question, “How do I get a bond?” 

If you or anyone you know has ever had to be bailed out jail, you know that process is confusing and takes time. If you’re the one behind bars or the one waiting for somebody to be released, it can seem like it takes forever. When it comes to immigration bail bonds, the process takes even longer, especially currently with the slew arriving through open borders. Let’s review the process and steps: 

  • First, an illegal alien is arrested ICE (Immigrations Customs Enforcement) and taken in for booking and process at a local federal law enforcement station. 
  • A bond is posted to the federal government.
  • An immigration judge sets the amount for immigration bail bonds or custody determination is established after a Deportation Officer has conducted an interview with the arrested illegal alien
  • The Department of Homeland Security determine the immigration bond amount. The amounts vary based on several factors. 
  • A person from the “ outside” must post the immigration bond. If they do not have the full amount of the bail, they can seek the services of an  outside party cannot pay the full amount of the bond, they must can apply for help with one of the many immigration bail bond companies in the area. 
  • A licensed bondsman from the immigration bail bond company will post the immigration bond with the ERO (Enforcement and Removal Operations) office and the illegal alien will be released to the bondsman’s custody.

What are the chances of getting an immigration bond?

Most non-citizens are found eligible to post bail bonds for immigration that will have them released from ICE custody until their hearing. There are some non-citizens that will be subjected to mandatory detention and not eligible to be released on immigration bail bond, typically those with a criminal record. 

The minimum amount for immigration bail bonds is $1,500, but the amounts an vary based on certain factors that include: 

  • a crime involving moral depravity, with some stipulations set
  • multiple convictions 
  • a controlled substance offense
  • a prostitution-related offense
  • terrorist activity
  • human trafficking
  • money laundering

What happens at an immigration bond hearing?

On the day of the immigration bail hearing, the detained is led into the courtroom wearing federal issued clothing and choose, without handcuffs or shackles. The only person the detained is allowed to speak with is their immigration attorney.

An Immigration Judge will review the detainee’s immigration status in America to confirm they are eligible for one of the immigration bail bonds and decide to grant or deny that bond. The Immigration Judge will review all evidence presented to help make this discretionary decision. It is the detainee’s duty, or their immigration attorney, to prove the following: 

  • detainee is not a flight risk
  • detainee is not a danger to the safety and security of this country 
  • detainee is not a threat to national security

Factors that the Immigration Judge will review for their decision is the detainee’s family connections and ties in this country; are they employed; their housing situation; is there any removal of relief available to them. During immigration bail bonds hearing, the Immigration Judge will ask about these things as well as any criminal history. That criminal history will include, but not limited to DUI arrest. 

Once immigration bail bonds have been approved by an Immigration Judge and has been obtained by an outside party, there are no immigration bail bond refunds possible should the detainee skip out or the person that paid the bail bond agency decides to back out of their obligation. 

arrest and flag

What is mandatory detention under immigration law?

Mandatory detention is a provision set by Immigration and Naturalization Agency that any non-citizens with specified criminal convictions are to be detained by Immigration Customs Enforcement agency. This keeps them from being eligible for immigration bail bonds and they are detained until their removal proceedings are held.

Once an illegal alien is arrested by ICE, how long can ice hold you in jail? If an illegal alien is arrested for anything and taken to jail where it is then discovered they are an illegal alien, Federal law states that they can only be held forty-eight hours by ICE after their jailed release. This is why it is beneficial and important to hire an immigration attorney as soon as arrested.  The attorney will know their rights and the law, making sure that all aspects are honored. Call today for your immigration bail bonds needs in Weslaco, TX.

Find an attorney for your case

attorney at a desk

What is the difference between a lawyer and an attorney?

Most of the time when somebody needs an attorney, it’s in an emergency situation. They’ve been arrested or got in a fight, something unplanned and resulted in going to jail. Unless they have an attorney on a retainer, the search begins to find an attorney to handle their case, and of course everyone wants to find good attorneys. Nobody looks in the yellow pages under “find me a bad attorney”. 

The common thought is an attorney is a lawyer and a lawyer is an attorney, but that is incorrect!  A lawyer is a person that has earned their JD (Juris Doctor law degree) from a law school. They have a law education, but they are not licensed to practice law. 

An attorney on the other hand, is a person that has earned a law degree and is licensed to practice law after they passed the bar examination. They can also be licensed to  practice law with a non-bar exam application. An attorney can legally offer advice on matters of the law and represent a client in court.

So, should a family member or friend find themselves in a position of needing an attorney, and they tell you, “Find an attorney for me.”, make sure you are finding an ‘attorney’ and not a ‘lawyer’. While the lawyer can meet with them and advise them, they will need to refer them to an attorney should their case go to court. 

How do I find an attorney?

You can begin your search on the internet with a search “find an attorney near me”, and because Google knows all, you’ll get pages of attorneys in your area. Or if a family member or friend has recommended an attorney by name but didn’t have any contact information, you can do an internet search for, “find an attorney by name”.  Because there can be more than one attorney with the same name, you want to make sure it is the same one referred to you. 

Your employer may offer legal aid services for their employees and families. This is something you can ask Human Resources about or check your Employee Manual. There are referral services that can help you find an attorney too, and of course advertisements can help too. 

If you’re trying to find someone’s attorney or deputy on their behalf, you can use the same methods mentioned. 

How do I find the best lawyer for my situation?

After you have located an attorney by using the tips we advised above, here are some pointers to help you find the attorney best for your case and needs: 

  • A starting qualification is to find an attorney that you and the defendant is comfortable with talking about the case. They need to know everything about the matter, so make sure you’re comfortable in that scenario.
  • Clarify what the attorney’s area of expertise is law is currently and in the past. Some states have specialization programs where an attorney is certified for a certain type of law. 
  • What type of legal cases does the attorney normally handle? They may handle more than one type of legal cases, but you want to find an attorney that the majority of their caseload is similar to your case. 
  • You should consider where their office is located, do they make house calls, what are the fees, and as how long do they see your case taking before it is settled. 
lawyer loading up their briefcase

How do I check a lawyer’s reputation?

A legal battle can be won or lost based on the attorney or lawyer you hire just as much as the case facts and the  law can determine a win or lose. Everyone says to find an attorney with a strong reputation, but how can you find out an attorney’s reputation? 

  • The state bar
  • Word of mouth. 

State Bar

Every attorney that practices law in any state must be licensed by that state which is done by the state bar association. This association can confirm for if an attorney is licensed to practice in your state, and research any disciplinarian issues. 

A state bar’s disciplinary organization monitor all registered attorneys and investigates every client complaint. If it is deemed by the organization that the attorney has violated the ethical rules set in place, they will apply appropriate disciplinarian action. 

Word of Mouth 

Every attorney that has a clean disciplinary record doesn’t mean they are a good attorney. A good attorney needs to stay out of trouble, but they also need to have a good record that secured their clients a good outcome. This is information you get by word of mouth from previous clients. 

It isn’t uncommon for the average person getting arrested not to have any money to hire an attorney. So, how can I find a lawyer with no money? As per the Miranda rights, an attorney will be provided by the courts. Some other options to find an attorney would be: 

  • Contingency Cases: This gives a person legal counsel without any upfront payment. The attorney is paid if and when the case is settled in favor of the client. This is typically a case where a person is seeking recovery costs. 
  • Pro Bono: This is when an attorney is volunteering their skill and services to represent a client. This may be through Legal Aid or other charity organization, or the attorney may have a personal cause in wanting to represent a client Pro Bono. 

Need help with bail bonds in Weslaco, TX? Call Rodriguez Bail Bonds at 956-316-2245 today.

What is considered a marijuana offense?

arrested on drug possession

What type of crime is marijuana possession?

Any criminal charges can be confusing and scary, even if it isn’t your first time. Navigating the legal process often requires the services of an attorney, to assure the charges are accurate and find the best way to handle them, especially when they are marijuana charges. There are many gray areas when it comes to marijuana possession charges that an experienced criminal attorney will know the best way to navigate the system in favor of the accused. 

It depends on a few factors, with the main factor being the amount of marijuana you were found to be in possession. In the state of Texas, marijuana is classified as a Schedule I substance. This means that the courts see a0 high potential for a person to abuse the drug that has no recognized medical value. 

So,  is marijuana possession a federal crime? Depending on the amount and the surrounding circumstances. The general breakdown of classification with marijuana charges for possession are handled goes as follows. Depending on surrounding circumstances at the time of arrest, such as possession of a weapon, the presences of a minor, etc., these classifications could change. 

  • Two ounces or less – Class B misdemeanor
  • Two to four ounces – Class A misdemeanor
  • Four ounces to five pounds – Felony marijuana charges
  • Five pounds to fifty pounds – Felony marijuana charges
  • Fifty pounds to Two Thousand pounds – Second Degree 
  • Over Two Thousand pounds – Felony marijuana charge

For marijuana possession for a minor, the classification of charges may vary with the punishment varying.  In Texas, a juvenile with marijuana charges or any drug possession violation, will face the following possible consequences:

  • Drug counseling
  • Probation
  • Diversion
  • Detention            

Do first time drug offenders go to jail?

In Texas, marijuana charges are not a small matter, no matter the amount or if it is a first time charge. More people are arrested in Texas on marijuana charges than any other state every year. When it comes to minors and first time offenders with marijuana charges face the same legal consequences as an adult or repeat offender. However, with the right criminal defense attorney, a minor may have an advantage that will get the penalties reduced.  Examples of some penalties for marijuana charges are: 

The penalties for marijuana charges will vary depending on the amount in possession, the defendant’s criminal history, and the surrounding circumstances at the time of the arrest.  The typical punishments for a  first-time marijuana charges the offender may be face:

  • Class B misdemeanor charge: Jail time up to 180 days with a fine of $2000.
  • Marijuana charges for 4 ounces up to 5 pounds has tougher consequences: Felony charges with state jail time between 180 days to 2 years and a fine of $10,000. 
  • A marijuana charge of possessing over 5 pounds but under 50 pounds: Third degree felony with state prison time of 2 to 10 years and a fine of $10,000.

The state of Texas has classified marijuana separate of other states. So a first time marijuana charge for possession under 1 pound will be given probation, mandatory drug treatment, and if the judge declares, a possible fine. 

With the help of an experienced criminal attorney, minors with marijuana charges of possession and no drug convictions previously may be able to avoid a permanent criminal record. 

What are the types of drug charges?

Under Texas state laws, offenses and punishments for drug possession has drug classes within four groups with marijuana charges in a different group. The groups are broken into Penalty Groups 1, 2, 3 and 4: penalties vary with a  minimum, of “Class B” or “Class A” misdemeanor, punished by 12 months in jail and a fine as much as $4,000, with the drug type determining the penalty level. 

Which drug carries the highest criminal penalties?

There are eight drug substances considered to be a high-traffic drug that have the most severe penalty which are classified as Controlled Substance under schedules I and II. Those eight substances are: 

  • Cocaine Base aka Crack
  • Cocaine Powder
  • Heroin
  • Fentanyl
  • LSD
  • Marijuana
  • Methamphetamine 
  • PCP

How do you beat drug charges?

Texas remains when it comes to marijuana charges with penalties ranging from a small fine to months serving time behind bars. The impact of marijuana charges in Texas can be long lasting, including employment ability. Fortunately, with the help of a criminal attorney, there is a chance the outcome of marijuana charges can be better using any of the following defense strategies: 

  • It wasn’t yours:  An excuse too commonly heard in the courts, but with proof, you could avoid conviction. That proof can be provided by text messages and testimony to and from friends or others, video footage, or proof the property where arrest took place was another person’s, or the drugs were planted. 
  • Entrapment: This is a similar defense to planting drugs and may include law enforcement may have coerced someone so they could  make an arrest. This is a complicated defense and should only be presented by an experienced criminal defense attorney.
  • Unlawful Search and Seizure: Law enforcement may abuse the power they have, taking advantage of citizens as they search for drugs. It is important to know your rights and if you don’t, that is what a criminal defense attorney is experienced at knowing. 
  • Substance Not Illegal: A substance that is a white powder isn’t always an illegal substance. It is on the courts to prove the substance in question is  a controlled substance. If they can’t, the charges could be dismissed. 
  • Diversion Program and Rehab: A drug possession charge can be the result of the arrestee’s addiction and a call for help. The prosecutor and judge could show sympathy for a first time charge if the arrestee shows effort in recovery.  
  • Medical Marijuana: Not every person in the state of Texas is going to be allowed to use Medicinal marijuana as a defense.  The Texas Compassionate Use Act is limited to small group that qualifies for a medicinal marijuana defense. 

Should you be faced with marijuana charges, hiring a criminal attorney is the first thing you should do. During your initial conversation and interview with the attorney, be totally honest about your criminal background. Every criminal attorney will do a marijuana possession background check, so being honest at the beginning only makes sense and gets you and your attorney off to a good start. Call today for your marijuana bail bonds needs in Weslaco, TX.

What is the Average Bail for a Felony?

felony bail bond

What is the Average Bail for a Felony?

Felony bail bonds can truly be a lifesaver in very devastating circumstances. However, the question remains: what is the average bail for a felony in Texas? To begin with, it is essential to understand that misdemeanors are far less severe than felonies. They will have lighter punishments than felonies. In the state of Texas, bail bonds are set at much lower rates for misdemeanors, ranging between $1,000 to $3,500. For felonies, the range is higher, anywhere from five thousand dollars to twenty thousand dollars. 

Can You Get Bail on a Felony Charge?

In Texas, courts have jurisdiction to set bail amounts as they see fit. This means that if the bail isn’t excessive, it’s allowed. Texas judges will set the terms of bail according to the seriousness of the case and the nature of the offense.

How are Bail Amounts Determined?

If you are not already aware, bail amounts are determined upon a number of independent factors. To discover more, please review the following list.

  • An appointed judge presiding over your case will determine the punishment based upon the extent of the alleged offense. The judge will ask questions like:
    • Is the defendant likely to commit more crimes after being released?
    • Does the defendant have an extensive criminal record? 
    • Are there extenuating circumstances that make the case more severe?

Each of these factors will determine the eventual outcome of your bail amount.

Can You Bail Someone Out with No Money?

Are you in a situation where you need to bail someone out but you don’t have money? In such cases, a bail bondsman will be your best asset. Most states only charge a ten percent premium on your bail amount in order to get your friend or loved one released from jail. Bail bond companies are vital for most if not all defendants because they provide an opportunity for the defendant to achieve freedom. Furthermore, if the defendant has been arrested after hours, a bail bond company that is open twenty-four hours a day will still be able to assist.

Can I Bond Myself Out of Jail?

If you are in jail, it will be pertinent for you to find options to free yourself legally and responsibly. According to leading bail bond websites, it is possible for you to bond yourself out of jail on your own. In addition, a friend or loved one can also facilitate the process. As described previously in earlier entries, the bail amount will be set by the court to ensure that the defendant appears at the scheduled court date. The ultimate objective of the justice system is to ensure that all defendants become or realize their ambition of becoming an asset to society. By going to court, you have the opportunity to display that you are a vital benefit to civil society.

How Much is Bail for a Felony

The bail amounts for felonies in Texas are set to certain amounts based upon pre-existing laws.. Felonies will have bail amounts that range anywhere from between five thousand and twenty thousand dollars. The severity of the crime will ultimately determine the severity of the bail amount. Other contributing factors include whether or not the appellant has a criminal history and whether the appellant is considered to commit further crimes upon release from police custody.

How Much is Bail for a Felony Drug Charge

If you have been convicted of a Group 2-A substance charge, then it will bring forth a sentence ranging between two and twenty years in state prison as well as a fine of up to ten thousand dollars. One of the stipulations of Texas law is the fact that even if an individual has a criminal history and is arrested, though never convicted, the court must give the individual probation under the law.

How Much is Bail for a Felony in Texas

As previously indicated, felonies are taken quite seriously in Texas. With bail amounts ranging in the thousands of dollars, it becomes pertinent to discuss that refraining from illegal activities is a wise way to maneuver forward.

felony theft

How Much is Bail for a Felony Theft

If an individual has been arrested for the theft of more than five hundred dollars but less than one thousand five hundred dollars then it will be considered a Class A misdemeanor. If the amount stolen exceeds one thousand five hundred dollars but is less than twenty thousand dollars, then it will be considered a state jail felony.

Are you wondering how much is bail for a felony in Weslaco, TX? If so, it is important for you to get real answers. Please give us a call at to access your best options today.

Can You Get Bail on a Felony Charge?

felony bail

Can You Get Bail on a Felony Charge?

A felony bail bondsman can be your very best friend in times when you are being charged with a felony. It’s very integral to understand that felonies are serious charges that come with severe penalties. The bail for felony crimes such as robbery can range anywhere from one thousand five hundred dollars to fifty thousand dollars. This amount of money can change, however, due to the fact that a very severe crime that includes a violent offense will make the monetary penalty skyrocket.

How Much is Bail for a Felony Drug Charge?

In Texas, all kinds of drug dealing will fall unders the charge f manufacture or delivery of drugs. There is a difference between manufacture and delivery of a controlled substance versus possession of drugs. If you have been charged with transporting drugs, then it should be made known that your charges will be just as serious as making and selling drugs to the public. The bail for a second-degree felony drug charge can be quite substantial. You can face two to twenty years in a state prison as well as a fine of up to $10,000. If you are caught while delivering a quarter of an ounce of marijuana, then you will be charged with a class B misdemeanor unless you are caught in the vicinity of a school or youth center.

What Is High Bail?

Your bail amount will be ultimately determined by the circumstances of your case. For instance, high bail is posed upon a defendant if they are considered a danger to the community or if they have committed an offense against a child. In these circumstances, the defendant is considered to have a higher likelihood of fleeing the jurisdiction before trial. Higher bail will also be set if the defendant has a prior criminal record.

What Crimes Require Bail?

Are you wondering what crimes require bail? If so, it will be important for you to review the following list. Please read on to discover more.

  • Grand theft
  • Grand larceny
  • Physical assault
  • Destruction of property
  • Rape
  • Arson 
  • Murder

In each of these instances, the state will consider the defendant to be dangerous. It is important to protect civil society, and for defendants who have been charged with these crimes to make adjustments to their behavior so that they are deemed an asset to society.

Why Do People Get a Million Bail?

Usually, a very high bail will be set for someone who has not only committed a crime, but who is also deemed to be a person who will not return to court. Whether a defendant committed a murder or another significant crime, they can expect a high bail amount. The best way to determine for you not to have a high bail amount is to be, or become, a morally upstanding citizen. This would involve educating oneself on how to be a trustworthy and safe person to be around.

Can a Felon Bail Someone Out of Jail

If you are a felon out on probation and want to bail someone out of jail, it will be important to understand whether this is at all possible. While it is true that you can legally bond someone ouit of jail, you should certainly check with your probation officer to make sure that you are not violating any of the terms of your probation. For instance, one of these terms could be associating with criminal persons. It’s always best to take a deep breath and take stock of the situation so that you can decide your best course of action.

Felony for Bail

Bail bonds in Texas are set at a lower rate in the one thousand to three thousand five hundred range for misdemeanors or for less serious crimes. Alternatively, for felonies, the penalty range extends from five thousand to twenty thousand.

Bail for Felony Vandalism

It is interesting to note that under Texas law that many forms of vandalism are charged as criminal mischief. If the damage is anywhere between two-thousand five hundred dollars and thirty thousand dollars, then the crime is a state jail felony and is punishable by up to ten thousand dollars in fine and between 180 days and two years in state jail.

felony bail

Felony No Bail

There are circumstances where you can bail someone out on a felony charge. The best course of action in those circumstances is to utilize an excellent bail bondsman. In contrast, if an inmate has not received a “no bond” then it means that the individual cannot be released from jail until a bail amount is set by an assigned judge.

If you require help with felony bail in Weslaco, TX, we can provide some much-needed assistance. Please reach out to us at today!

How do bail works?

gavel from judge

The Bail Bonds Process

Drive around the area of jail on a weekend night, and you probably would think that the bail bonds business is a money-making business. As we already know, bail bonds companies charge a fee when they bond somebody out of jail. They collect that fee from the person that has cosigned on the bond. 

Bail bonds explained this way: When somebody is arrested and put behind bars, they have the right to one phone call. That one call is usually to a family member or friend asking them to find a bail bond agent that will post bail and get them released. When you don’t have a lot of money lying around, a bail bondsman will charge you a fee, usually 10% of the bail, and then they put up the rest of the bail that will get your loved one out of jail. 

A bail bonds agency may ask for collateral and security deposit, in addition to the. To the person that is requesting bail bonds, it may seem like the agency or agent is making a good income. What you don’t realize, their income is that 10%, and for an agency that has several agents on staff, that doesn’t leave them much profit after expenses. 

A bail bonds company signs a bond with the court after taking the risk that the person who they bail out will show up for court. They require that percentage upfront as a security that is proportionate to the reward. They consider the strength of the cosigner’s character and qualifications, and if they look viable, the bail bonds company is likely going to take the accused as a client.

How do you bail someone out of jail without money?

Yes, a person can be released from jail without posting bail with the court or a bail bonds agency. A judge can release a person on their recognizance, referred to in the legal system as an O.R. The judge will review the following factors before making that decision: 

  • Any prior criminal history, including court appearance failures
  • Community standing and ties, including work history and family
  • Possible risk to the public or self 

An established bail bonds company will consider the above factors and the person’s credit standing and may offer bail bonds zero down with some strict requirements in addition to a court appearance. Because bail bonds companies usually are running on a tight budget, this is an exceedingly rare offering, and the person granted bail bonds with zero down will need to hold up to their end of the agreement. 

Can I bail someone out of jail online?

In some states, yes, bail bonds can be done online with a credit card. DocuSign, Email, and fax can do all of the documents that are required to complete a bail bonds transaction. The following information is needed before the online bail bonds transaction can be completed: 

  • Defendant’s full name, date of birth
  • Defendant’s email address, phone number, occupation, place of employment
  • Payers email address, phone number, occupation, place of employment
  • A certain number of references

How long do you stay in jail if you can’t pay bail?

If a defendant cannot make bail, the courts are required to prosecute them within forty-eight hours after their arrest. Holidays, Saturdays, and Sundays to not count in that 48 hours, so depending on the time of arrest, the defendant could be held two to four days until arraignment. The arraignment does not guarantee release without bail bonds being posted. The judge could look at the case, the defendant’s history, and decide to keep them incarcerated until their hearing. 

bond paperwork

Is it better to bail out of jail?

Once you are convicted of a crime and received a jail sentence, you will credit or time served, reducing the number of days you were incarcerated. So, if you expect to be sentenced to jail, you can save the bail bonds money and stay put. 

From the financial aspect, this could make sense for some people. However, in practice, it is usually beneficial to be released before trial for several reasons. Some reasons why getting bailed out is best: 

  • You could be wrong about your possible jail sentencing.  
  • For defendants awaiting trial vs those who are sentenced already, the opportunities and privileges aren’t as available, like gym and library. 
  • Released defendants often make statements to jailers and other inmates that could be used when your case goes to trial. 
  • Released Defendants’ case often goes stale as prosecutors focus more o cases that are behind bars.

Can you sleep all day in jail?

No, you cannot, at any level of incarceration. AdSeg, SuperMax, SHU, or any other level of incarceration; sleeping all day is not an option. There are routines and schedules, meals, outside time, shower, free time are all at the same time every day. Even during sleeping hours, some jails or prisons have required count where inmates are accounted for with roll call. 

If you find yourself in need of bailing a loved one or a friend out of jail, start with an internet search “bail bonds near me.” Call a few of them and get their pricing and other information offered. For fast bail service in Weslaco, TX, call today.

Theft in Texas

Burglar Breaking Into House And Stealing Television

Learn More About Theft

Theft is a serious crime no matter what state your reside in, however there will be different consequences and procedures of the crime depending on the state. With the crime of theft in Texas, there are many different types, classes and degrees that can be committed with varying levels of punishments based on a different circumstances. Theft is particularly high in the number of cases so there will be a long process following an arrest. It’s important to get into contact with your legal representative for advice on what to do after being arrested for theft. Until that time comes, here is some general information surrounding theft in Texas that may help you out until then. If you’d like to learn more make sure to do your research and get in touch with professional legal help.

What is considered theft in Texas?

Theft in Texas is considered to be either misdemeanors or felonies with different classes attached to them based on the value of lost. A class A misdemeanor with a property or services stolen more than $500 but less than $1,500 for example will have a different penalty than felonies.

What theft amount is a felony?

A felony theft will have the value of property exceed the minimum amount establish by state lay typically between $500-$1,000. With Texas a felony will have a value of stolen property or services be between $1,500 and $19,999.

What is the penalty for theft in Texas?

The penalty for a class A misdemeanor of theft will be up to one year in jain and/or a fine of up to $4,000. A felony will have more sever consequences depending on the Degree of theft. WIth third degree felony theft you will see 2-10 years of in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice, and a fine of no more than $10.000.

How long does Theft stay on your record in Texas?

Theft will stay in your record for life technically yet some background checks will only go back a certain number of years as seen with the “seven year rule” in Texas.

What is aggravated theft in Texas?

Aggravated theft has to due with theft of property with certain aggravating factors such as the use of a weapon, threat or intimidation in relation to the crime, theft of police or government property, and similar crimes.

What is the difference between theft and petty theft?

Petty theft will typically involve theft of any property less than $400 in value while grand theft will be over $400 of property. While petty theft is a misdemeanor grand theft is a felony which caries a term in a state prison.

What is the most common type of theft?

The most common type of theft is larceny and outweighs other crimes in general at that. There are more than seven million reported larceny-thefts each year making up to almost 60% of reported crimes. The second most after this is burglary which is coincidentally another type of property crime.

Theft Enhancement Texas

The punishment of theft convictions can be enhanced under certain conditions. One example of this theft by a public official or servant who uses their status to accomplish a theft.

Texas Theft Ladder

Like a majority of states, Texas classifies theft crimes according to the value of the stolen property or services. There is a value ladder system where penalties become more severe as the value of stolen property increases. Try to get familiar with this system in order to see what consequences are in line with particular types of theft.

intrusion of a burglar in a house inhabited

What is an example of theft?

  • Larceny
  • Burglary
  • Shoplifting
  • Petty Theft
  • Grand Theft
  • Extortion

Get Assistance With The Crime of Theft After Arrest

There are many consequences with theft that should be taken into consideration the next time a crime is committed. State by state you will see differences in penalties and severity of crimes that will dictate legal procedures following an arrest. If you or someone you know has been arrested for theft and requires help with bail contact your local reputable bail bondsman. You will be able to await trial at home with a given portion of the bail amount paid on the basis that legal processes will be followed per schedule Get in touch with your legal representative for more information and guidance on what to do regarding a particular case of theft as not all will have the same circumstances. It’s important to have the advice of a legal representative in order or procedures to be done correctly and with a mind to deadlines and expectations. When in doubt, consult a professional regarding the details of your case. It’s always important to get the help that’s necessary in order for your case to go smoothly.

If you need assistance with bail from a theft in Weslaco, TX call 956-316-2245 with Rodriguez Bail Bonds!