Blog

How Much is Bail for a Felony?

A Judge Speaks to a Defendant in a Courtroom.

Can you get bail on a felony charge?

As many as 95% of all criminal cases, whether felony or misdemeanor, have a bail amount set. It is generally up to the courts to decide whether or not to grant felony bail. Much of this will depend on the circumstances. The judge will use his or discretion on whether to set bail on a felony charge. One of the main things that will determine if bail is set is the judge can establish whether you’ll return to court on your scheduled court date. This decision will rest on several factors, including your past criminal history, your status in the community and the offense you committed

How much is bail for a felony?

Felony bail amounts will vary in Texas depending on the level of the offense committed. Texas has several levels of felony offenses, divided into classes.

  • State jail felony: These are offenses that don’t readily fit into other classifications. Most will not involve weapons, and punishment ranges from 180 days to two years in jail, along with up $10,000 in fines.
  • Third degree: A less serious felony offense like possession of five to 50 pounds of marijuana that carries a prison sentence of two to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. 
  • Second degree: A crime that carries a sentence of two to 20 years prison time and fines up to $10,000.
  • First degree: A crime like sexual assault of a child that carries a prison sentence of five to 99 years or life. 
  • Capital felony: Crimes like murder that can receive sentences including life without parole or the death penalty.

For felony bail you might expect the bail to be set at anywhere from about $5,000 to $20,000. Felony bail for theft may be less than bail for very serious crimes like first-degree murder, which could be set higher, even into the millions of dollars. With some offenses like a capital murder charge no bail could be set.

Once bail is determined, you may need help from a bond agent to pay felony bail. In the Weslaco, TX, the leading bail bonds service is Rodriguez Bail Bonds. We have more than 40 years of experience with bail bonds, so give us a call at for help.

How is the amount of bail determined?

When determining the amount of bail, the judge will consider the offense, as well as your criminal background, social status in the community, and the likelihood that you will return for your court date. The likelihood of your showing up for court is usually the primary determinant in the bail amount. If this is a first offense and you have a job and an otherwise good history within the community you live, it’s possible you may be released on your own recognizance, without paying any bail amount. 

Some courts may use a program that has a mathematical algorithm to determine the bail amount. Your information is entered into the program and the program sets a score or provides a recommendation based on the algorithm. The programs determine assess the risk you may commit another crime or fail to appear.

Felony no bail

There are many reasons a judge may determine no bail should be set. Depending on your circumstances and background, the judge may let you go on your promise to show up for court. This is release on recognizance. If you are violating the terms of your probation from a previous conviction, it’s very likely you will not get bail, and will have to remain in jail until your court date. 

Your criminal history and background, as well as the type of crime committed play major roles in determining the bail amount, or if bail is granted at all. If have a long string of convictions, and commit another crime, you may not be granted bail. The courts have final say on bail.  

Will I go to jail for first felony?

When you’re first arrested on felony charges, whether or not it’s a first offense, you will at least spend a few hours or a few days in jail, until your arraignment or bail hearing. Once you post bail you’ll be released. If you cannot afford bail, you’ll remain in jail until your court date.

If you have been tried and convicted of a felony offense, it will be up to the judge or jury to decide your sentencing. Depending on the type of offense, many first-time felony offenders will not receive state jail time. With some drug charges, for instance, the recommended sentencing may be deferred adjudication or probation. Other offenses such as murder or sexual assault of a child you’ll normally receive jail time, even for first offenses.

Can you get bail out of jail after sentencing?

State laws will vary, but in some cases, a defendant can be released from jail on bail after being sentenced. This is a fairly rare circumstance, and usually only occurs for less serious offenses. Bail may be granted in the case of an appeal, for instance, or if the sentence is relatively short, as it may be with some minor crimes. Post-conviction bail for serious crimes is rarely granted because those convicted are considered flight risks.

Can a felon bail someone out of jail

While it’s technically possible for a felon to bail someone out of jail, it may not be the best choice to do so, especially if you are on probation. Before posting bail for someone, you may want to check with your probation officer to see if it would violate the terms of your probation. You could be considered to be associating with known criminals or with someone involved in a criminal act.

An Inmate is Escorted to His Jail Cell.

Get help today

If you or a loved one have been arrested on felony charges and need felony bail in Weslaco, TX, give the professionals at Rodriguez Bail Bonds at call at . We have more than 40 years of bail bond service and are ready to help you. 

How do I find a reputable lawyer?

How to Find a Good Attorney is Our Job

Bail Bonds and Attorneys

When you need to help bail someone out, you can do a quick search and find a reliable bail bondsman in no time. But what do you do when you need to find a lawyer? It’s risky and highly inadvisable to just pick a random lawyer when you have the choice to pick someone. There are some instances when that isn’t an option and you are stuck with whomever the state sends to you. Regardless, when you want to know how to find a good attorney in Weslaco, TX, give Rodriguez Bail Bonds a call. We’re available 24/7 at

Ask Friends and Family How to Find a Good Attorney

How to Find a Good Attorney

The severity of the crime committed will determine when to find an attorney and when to not. If you are seeking bail on a felony charge, then you may want to also seek an attorney as well. That can often seem difficult though. How do you even begin to find someone? What if you can’t find an attorney? There are a lot of questions to answer, so let’s just get started.

  • Ask Family or Friends: An easy way to start finding a lawyer is to ask your family or friends. Someone may know an attorney or at least a practice to start with. Or ask bail bonds agent.
  • Ask Other Lawyers: If you already know a lawyer, but maybe you can’t afford their prices, you can always ask them for recommendations. 
  • Do Research Online: There are a few online platforms such as Martindale Hubble that can help you find reputable lawyers in the area. 
  • Check the State Bar: A great place to find an attorney bar number and check their credentials at the same time is the State Bar site. 
  • Contact State Programs: If you can’t afford a lawyer but you’d like some help, there always several state pro bono programs that you can contact. 

Though it may seem like it at times, it’s not impossible to find a lawyer. Whether you pay for one or you go through the state services, there is someone out there that can help you. Another great place to ask for advice or help is at the bail bonds service you use. Rodriguez Bail Bonds will gladly discuss reputable lawyers and point you in the right direction. 

Qualities of a Good Attorney

Finding a good attorney can seem daunting, but it’s not impossible. Once you have found one that you like, it’s important to vette them and make sure they are up to the task of being your lawyer. The best way to do that is to search for their State Bar Profile and look for a website for reference. On the website, looking through their Frequently asked questions can give you an understanding of who they are and how they can help you. 

  • Communication: Since public speaking is a major component of their job, it’s important to know that your lawyer can communicate well. Additionally, they need to be able to write well and just generally communicate a point well.
  • Judgment: Your lawyer needs to be able to come to reasonable, logical conclusions based on the information provided to them. They need to be able to see the larger picture at hand as well as the smaller details and weaknesses. 
  • Analytical Skills: One of the most important qualities your lawyer should have is being able to analyze just about any situation. We’re not talking about someone calculating or manipulative, but someone that can filter through all the information and find reasonable conclusions. 
  • Research Skills: Any good lawyer knows most cases need a solid foundation of research before ever stepping foot in a courtroom. Your lawyer should be able to accurately filter and condense all the information they find.
  • People Skills: Of course your lawyer also needs to have more than adequate people skills. They need to be able to empathize with you and be able to relate that to a judge and/or jury. 
  • Perseverance: A key quality that may often get overlooked is perseverance. Your lawyer should be willing to put the time and effort into defending you. They should be dedicated to defending you and willing to work as hard as it takes. 

Regardless if you are paying your attorney or they are doing it for free, these are just a few of the qualities they should possess. You need someone that you can rely on and trust to help you. Look for these qualities and you can’t go wrong.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Can I get a lawyer for free?
    • If you can’t afford a lawyer on your own, then the state can appoint one to you. Usually, the lawyers that do this are doing the work “pro bono” which means they aren’t getting paid and won’t ask for money to defend you.
  • How do I check a lawyer’s credentials? 
    • The best and most reliable place you can research a lawyer is with their state bar profile. Every licensed lawyer will have one. You can Google them and read through their credentials on the state bar site. 
  • How do you research a lawyer?
    • You can start by Googling them to see if they have a website for reference. Another site that will provide you the most accurate information will be their state bar profile online. 
  • How can I get free legal advice?
    • There are several ways you can get access to free legal advice. Call a legal aid hotline, schedule a free consultation with a lawyer, look into federally-funded legal aid programs, find a local pro bono program, or take advantage of the free legal services offered by your state. 
  • What qualities make a good lawyer? 
    • Some of the big and best qualities a good lawyer can have are communication skills, analytic skills, research skills, people skills, using good judgment, and being a people person.
Online Research Can Help How to Find a Good Attorney

Connect With Us Today for More Information

We can help you with bail and we can help you find an attorney. Dial to connect with Rodriguez Bail Bonds about how to find a good attorney in Weslaco, TX. We’re here to help you.

How Do Immigration Bail Bonds Work?

A Picture of an Arrested Man with Cuffed Hands Wearing an American Flag Shirt.

What Are Immigration Bail Bonds?

If you a family member or friend has been detained by the Department of Homeland Security or ICE (Immigration and Customs Enforcement) due to reasons having to do with their immigration status, it is a good idea to get immigration bail bonds so they can be released until their court date. An immigration bail bond is when someone puts up money in order for the detained persons can be released from the federal law enforcement station. Immigration bail bonds differ a lot from regular bail bonds; typically the bail amount is determined by a court of judge, but in the case of immigration bail the amount is determined Homeland Security. Another thing that makes them different is that the federal government posts the bail, not the court. So either an immigration judge or custody determination will set the bail.

While there are some things about immigration bail bonds that are different from traditional bail bonds, the process is not that different. When someone is arrested by either Homeland Security or ICE, they will be taken to the Department of Homeland Security Immigration Customs Enforcement in order to be processed and booked. Next, the immigration judge or custody determination will set the amount of the immigration bail bond. Once the bail amount has been set, an outside party such as a friend or relative will have to pay the full amount of the bond. In situations where someone can’t pay the full amount, then they can seek help from a bail bond company. By putting up the bail amount for the detained individual, they are promising to Homeland Security that the defendant will go to their court date or NTA (notice to appear).

Who Qualifies for Immigration Bond?

A lot of people ask who are going through this type of situation, “Who gets immigration bail?” For the most part, people who need immigration bail bonds are eligible for them. However, there are a couple of things that can prevent someone from qualifying for an immigration bond. If someone is considered a flight risk, has past criminal convictions, has already been deported, or ICE or Homeland Security doesn’t think the detainee is cooperating they will not be eligible for immigration bail bonds. When someone doesn’t qualify for these types of bonds, they have to wait in the immigration detention facility to see if an immigration judge decides to deport them or if they are being inadmissible. If someone does qualify for an immigration bail bond, there are a couple of types that can be issued.

  • Delivery Bond: Two things have to happen, a detainee must have an arrest warrant and ICE must receive notice of custody conditions.
  • Public Safety Bond: If the detainee accepts any type of public assistance, the fees to the government will be reimbursed.
  • Voluntary Departure Bond: The detainee is guaranteed voluntary return to their country based on the conditions in their court order.
  • Order of Supervisions Bond: The detainee is required to check in with ERO (Enforcement and Removal Operations) so that it minimizes the flight risk.

For detainees to not forfeit their bond, they have to meet the immigration bail conditions. The conditions of the immigration bond will depend on the specific circumstance.

How Much is a Bail Bond for Immigration?

When it comes to the bail amount for immigration bail bonds, there are a couple of factors that are taken into consideration. The immigration judge or ICE will consider the detainee’s employment, criminal history, if they have family ties to the U.S., and what their immigration status is. If the detainee is considered a flight risk, their bail amount will be a lot higher. The bail amount can also depend on what kind of immigration bail bond is assigned. Typically, you can expect to pay anywhere from $1,500 to $10,000. If the detainee is unable to pay the bond amount or their loved ones can’t pay the bond, then they can get help from a bail bond company.

What Happens When Individuals Are Released On Bond in Immigration Court Proceedings?

A Picture of a Book with the Title Immigration Law with Gavel On Top.

What Happens After Immigration Bail?

Many people ask, “What does it mean to be granted immigration bail?” what it means is that the detainee is free to leave the detention center that they were being held at. While this is great news, it doesn’t mean that your case is over–there are still things that need to be done in order to ensure everything goes smoothly. If someone is released on a Rodriguez bond (Rodriguez v. Robbins, 805 F.3d 1060) that means that the case has been expedited, and the court hearing will take place 10 to 28 days later after you leave the detention center. Because of this, you need to make sure that your mailing address is up to date. If its a regular deportation case and doesn’t involve a Rodriguez bond, you will still need to go to every hearing. You should also file a written request to have your case moved to a court that is closer to your home. If you have a loved one who needs immigration bail bonds in Weslaco, TX, please call Rodriguez Bail Bonds today! Our bail bonds will help you get released from jail quickly. From immigration bail bonds to drug charges bail, there is nothing we can’t handle. Call us at 956-316-2245 for 24 hour immigration bail bonds.

What is a Controlled Substance Violation?

A flashing blue light from a police vehicle with traffic in the background.

Is Possession of a Controlled Substance a Felony?

The penalties for possession of a controlled substance offense in Texas vary depending on which penalty group the substance is found to be categorized in. These groups number from one to three and are typified according to their potential to be abused. If the substance is found in the first group (PG-1, the group with the substances with the most potential to be abused) an individual can be convicted of a state jail felony if the substance is less than one gram. The state jail felony conviction can also be applied to the PG-2 category. For PG-3, the individual can only be convicted of a Class A misdemeanor.

When you find yourself in a jail cell, it’s important for you to know you have options. Familiarize yourself with the bail process so you are able to move forward with responsibility.

How Long do You Go to Jail for Possession?

If you possess an illicit or controlled drug, it may violate the Texas Controlled Substances Act. In order to convict an individual of drug possession, the Texas state prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant knowingly and intentionally possessed or manufactured control over a controlled substance (drug) which the individual does not have a prescription for. Depending on the amount of the illicit drug in the individual’s possession, the penalty can be up to 99 years. In summation, Texas has some of the harshest penalties for drug possession.

Weslaco, TX possession of a controlled substance carries great consequences. Reading about the laws in your state will inform you about the serious ramifications.

What Crimes Get 10 Years in Jail?

In Texas, first-degree, second-degree, and third-degree felonies can merit ten years in jail. First-degree felony charges can bring imprisonment ranging from 5-99 years, depending on the case. A second-degree felony conviction comes at a cost of 2-20 years, and a third-degree felony relates to approximately 2-10 years of jail time. Additionally, a state jail felony comes with an imprisonment time ranging from 180 days to two years. Due to the harshness of these imprisonment times, it’s important to exercise discretion and decorum. The only way to truly remove oneself from imprisonment is to follow the laws and stay away from illegal substances.

What Does Controlled Substance Mean?

The definition of a controlled substance is as follows: any illicit drug or prescription medication for which its manufacture, possession, or use is regulated by the state or federal government is referred to as a controlled substance. The Texas Controlled Substances Act defines a controlled substance as, “a substance, including a drug, an adulterant, and a diluent listed in Schedules I through V or Penalty Group 1, 1-A, 2, 2-A, 3, or 4.”

A magnifying glass hovers over a fingerprint on a sheet of similar fingerprints.

Can You Get Probation for a Felony Drug Charge?

The punishment range for a felony drug charge can be different depending on the specific circumstances of the case and the person’s criminal history. If a person does not have any felony criminal history, they may be eligible for probation. In some cases, a state jail felony drug charge is mandatory probation. A state jail felony means the charge is the lowest level felony and has special rules that apply to punishment and release. These special rules include the length of the sentence, “good time” use against the person later, and the facility of imprisonment.

Controlled Substance is a Felony

To be clear, Texas is serious about drug use. This is because the laws were ordered to prohibit drug use amongst citizens to the highest degree allowable. The possible charges and penalties vary depending on the amount the person has on them, and the type of drug. The Texas Controlled Substances act dictates that first, second, third-degree, and state jail felonies will be accorded to drugs (a gram or less) of illicit and controlled substances. These controlled substances range in severity from the potential to be abused by an individual. Common drugs that are in the severest category, or PG-1, include opiates and related drugs.

Is Controlled Substance a Law?

If an individual possesses a controlled substance, they can be penalized by the state of Texas. Anyone caught with a controlled substance or found to be driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, will come under the severe penalties required by law. For instance, while marijuana may be legal in some states, it is not legal whatsoever in Texas. Currently, CBD oil with very low amounts of THC is allowed for those with a medical need, such as for the treatment of epilepsy.

Controlled Substance and the Law

When it comes to drugs and drug addiction, Texas has particularly strict laws. These laws were designed to discourage and punish citizens from choosing to use illicit and illegal substances in the state of Texas. A person found in possession of any illegal substance can face jail time, probation, hefty fines, mandatory drug addiction treatment, and a six-month suspension of their driver’s license.

Controlled Substance Codes

It is best if citizens of Rodriguez Bail Bonds are informed about the substance codes in their state. The following list consists of the substance codes in Texas.

  • CDS – Controlled Dangerous Substance.
  • PG-1 – Penalty Group One. This typifies all the penalty groups by category of 1, 2, 3 and 4.
  • PG-1A – Penalty Group One A consists only of lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD).

Have you or someone you love been arrested for a controlled substance in Weslaco, TX? Our staff at Rodriguez Bail Bonds are ready to take your phone call at __PHONE__. Don’t wait! We can help.

Can a drug charge ruin your life?

An arrest for possession of a controlled substance doesn’t mean your life is ruined, although if convicted, the penalties can be harsh.

Drug charges, for instance, can be dropped or reduced. Some reasons drug charges could be dropped include:

  • Officer didn’t have a valid reason to stop you or search you, your home or vehicle.
  • You didn’t freely or voluntarily give consent to search or the officer exceeded that consent.
  • You can agree to cooperate with law enforcement and you and your attorney can carefully negotiate the charges with prosecutors.
  • Possession can’t be proven by the officer. Drug charges must have evidence to support them.

Even if you are convicted, depending on the seriousness of the charge, it might not ruin your life. Not all charges, for instance, are felony charges.

Answers To Frequently Asked Bail Bond Questions

Is possession of a controlled substance a felony?

A possession of a controlled substance charge can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. This depends on the type and amount of drug and intent. Usually amounts of 400 grams or more will constitute a felony.

Drug charges and penalties also vary from state to state. In Texas, drugs fall under different categories,  and classifications, such as narcotics and stimulants, and carry penalties accordingly. At minimum, possession charges are Class A or B misdemeanors, with up to 1 year of jail time and $4,000 in fines.

Additionally, there are three main penalty groups, Penalty Groups 1, 2, and 3, and some drugs like opioids fall under two different penalty groups. Heroin, for instance, falls under Penalty Group 1, while other opioids not listed under that penalty group fall into Penalty Group 3.

Penalty Group 1 carries the severest punishments, with two years of minimum jail time and fines of $10,000 to a maximum of life and fines up to $250,000 for possession of 400 grams or more.

Marijuana, however, falls under its own penalty group. Possession of marijuana of 2 ounces or less at minimum results in probation and mandatory drug treatment, along with the possibility of 180 days in jail and fines of up to $2,000.

What percentage of crimes are drug-related?

According to Bureau of Justice statistics, 17% of state prisoners and 18% of federal prisoners reported they committed crimes to get money for drugs. About a quarter of all inmates in local jails, who had been convicted of property crimes, said they had committed their offense for money to buy drugs.

Additionally, FBI statistics show that almost 4% of all homicides are drug-related. As many as 70% of offenders on probation reported past drug use. Marijuana was the most commonly reported drug used.

What are the charges for possession of drugs?

While drug laws vary state to state, possession of illicit drugs such as heroin, cocaine, methamphetamine, LSD, drugs like ecstacy and in some states, including Texas, marijuana is still illegal. Depending on the amount possessed and the intent of use—either for personal use or to distribute—a person can be charged with either a misdemeanor or felony. In some cases, federal charges can be brought up.

Penalties for such charges will also vary from state to state and on other convictions a person might have. If a person has several guilty convictions they could face a lifetime in either a state or federal prison.

Along with drugs like heroin or cocaine, prescription drugs are illegal to possess, use, and distribute if the person in possession of the the drug does not have a legal prescription from a licensed medical professional for that drug.

Because of an increase of illicit prescription drug use, especially of opiate-based painkillers, penalties in many states have increased.

In some states like Texas, it is also illegal to possess drug-related paraphernalia including scales to weigh drugs, drug purity testing equipment, any substance or material used to dilute a drug or packaging like baggies or balloons used to sell and distribute drugs.

What drug is considered a controlled substance?

Both illegal drugs and legal prescription drugs are controlled substances federally classified in five categories or schedules:

  • Schedule I: Drugs in this category are considered to have no medical uses and potential for high abuse. Heroin and LSD fall into this category, as does marijuana, although the DEA is considering downgrading marijuana into a different schedule because potential for medical applications.
  • Schedule II: These are drugs that have a high potential for abuse. Cocaine, methamphetamine, opium and controlled prescription drugs like morphine and oxycodone fall under this category.
  • Schedule III: Drugs in this category tend to have less potential for abuse and more uses medically. In this category are drugs like anabolic steroids, painkillers like Vicodin and some products that contain codeine.
  • Schedule IV: Includes primarily prescription drugs with wide medical use and a lower potential for abuse. Under this category are drugs like Xanax, Klonopin, Valium, and Ativan.
  • Schedule V: Primarily drugs with a wide medical use and low potential for abuse. Often drugs with small amounts of codeine in them are placed in this category.

Will a possession charge show up on a background check?

A possession charge, even a misdemeanor charge, if convicted, could show up on a background check, depending upon how extensive the background check is. Governmental background checks will often be more extensive than an employer’s background check.

In Texas, background checks fall under a “seven-year” rule, which keeps background check companies from reporting any conviction, felony or misdemeanor, older than seven years. There are exceptions to the rule. It doesn’t apply for employers offering salaries of $75,000 or more annually.

Other states with the seven-year rule in place are California, Colorado, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, and Washington.

If you have been charged and jailed for possession of a controlled substance, the professionals at Rodriguez Bail Bonds in Weslaco, TX. Give us a call if you need our help for this or other problems. You might also find our frequently asked bail questions useful regarding other issues of bail.

Weapons Offenses and Their Consequences

The Second Amendment of the United States Constitution gives its citizens the right to bear arms. With different state laws regulating what weapons are permissible and others aren’t, it can be a bit tricky to understand what counts as a weapons offense, and what counts as legal. Before carrying a weapon out in public, there are a few things you need to be aware of.

Definition of Weapon Violation

A weapon violation is the breaking of laws or ordinances that deal with Weapon Offenses, such as the manufacture or sale of a deadly weapon, giving a weapon to a minor, aliens in possession of deadly weapons, and the attempt of even doing any of the before mentioned. Weapons violation is a serious crime and can lead you to pay heavy fines and/or doing jail time.

What Falls Under the Category of Weapons Violation?

Weapons that can cause mass destruction and are more commonly used in the military are all considered to be deadly weapons, this includes but is not limited to:

  • Explosives
  • Clubs
  • Knives with blades over five and a half inches long
  • Shotguns with barrels less than 18 inches
  • Rifles with barrels less than 16 inches
  • Altered Rifles or Shotguns whose length are less than 26 inches
  • Machine Guns
  • Zip Guns
  • Firearm silencer
  • Chemical Dispensing Device

Weapons violations can lead to hefty fines and jail time.

Possession and Use

Being charged with a weapons violation is serious and it falls under two categories, possession and use.

Possession refers to being found in the ownership or control of a deadly weapon on your person, in your car, or at your home. You can be charged with illegal weapon possession even if you have not shown, used, or threatened anyone with the weapon. Federal and State laws state that deadly weapons cannot be owned or used by civilians. (Note: You can also be charged with illegal possession, even if it is a weapon that is technically legal to be owned if you do not have a weapons permit. If you are going to carry, you must have a permit first.)

Use refers to being found using or brandishing a weapon during the act of another crime. A person does not need to be injured, nor does the gun necessarily have to go off, for illegal use to be charged. For example, if a person decides to rob a bank, but tries to do it with no weapon, they would be charged with robbery. Add a gun or a knife into the mix and now the charge gets upgraded into an aggravated robbery. The term aggravated is only used when a weapon is involved in the crime.

Consequences for Firearm Misuse

The consequences of being found in the possession of an illegal firearm are steep and have far more reaching consequences than just jail time. Being found with a pair of brass knuckles can lead you to have a Class A misdemeanor, which will result in jail time for up to a year as well as a $4,000 fine.

Jail time is given for both Class A misdemeanor and a 3rd-degree felony.

For more serious offenses, such as being in possession of explosives or a machine gun, you could be charged with a 3rd-degree felony which brings a sentence between 2-10 years as well as a fine up to $10,000.

These consequences though follow you even after jail time, your privileges, such as the right to vote and the ability to gain state professional licenses would be taken away from you. You would no longer be allowed to practice your 2nd amendment rights legally either, as you would no longer be accepted to own a weapon permit. Finally, you will find that your ability to find jobs would dwindle, as certain fields are not open for people convicted of a felony.

If I Get Accused of Firearm Misuse, Then What Happens?

If you find yourself in the unfortunate situation of being accused of possessing a firearm, then you will end up in the Hidalgo County Jail. Here it will be the responsibility of you or a loved one to find a way to pay for bail. If you need help with this, then call Rodriguez Bail Bonds. With our help and your commitment, we will be able to help you get out of jail which allows you the time to find representation before your next court date. The only thing we ask of you is that you come into our office and fill out some paperwork, in which you will agree to show at your court date. We are not concerned in finding out all of the facts of your case, we just want to know the crime and the charges that are being made against you, as that is what the judge uses to determine the amount of money needed for bail. During your next court date is when you will be determined innocent or guilty.   

We are the name you can trust when it comes to making sure that your bond is set immediately, so that you may meet with your lawyer and your family to plan out your next action.

How Do Theft Charges Work

A Picture of a Thief Stealing a Cellphone From a Woman On a Bench

Theft Charges Will Depend On a Variety of Factors.

If a family member or friend of yours has been arrested with a theft charge, it’s important to know how these types of charges are going to work. First off, when someone is charged with something, it means that they are accused of something, but that doesn’t mean that they will be convicted or sentenced for that particular charge. In the case of theft charges, there are a couple of factors that determine how they will work. The judge will need to look at these types of factors–what was stolen, what is the value of the stolen property, what is the person’s history with theft, and what their general criminal history. Depending on those factors, will determine whether the theft charge is a misdemeanor or a felony. There is always the question of, “How much jail time can you get for theft?” and it really does depend on those listed factors above.

While it will definitely affect you in the present time, people who have theft charges also need to know how it will affect their future. If convicted and sentenced with a theft charge will have it on their permanent record. That means when they are looking for a job and they go through a backyard check, the theft charges will show up. This can really impact a person’s ability to secure a job, even if the theft charge was minor.

Theft Vs Larceny

A Shoplifter is Stealing a Chocolate Bar From a Grocery Store

Larceny is a Type of Theft Crime.

When we see the terms theft and larceny, we tend to think that they are interchangeable words. However, it’s important to know that theft and larceny are two different things. In fact, theft itself is sort of umbrella term to categorize common types of theft. Theft itself is when someone steals any kind of object from a car to a pencil, but there are different types of theft, which include robbery and larceny. Both larceny and robbery are theft crimes, but they are very different. Larceny is when someone steals another person’s property with the intention of never giving it back; robbery is when someone steals from another person using force or threat while the person is present, while also having no intention of giving the said property back. Robbery is considered a more serious crime than larceny because the robber is using force and threats to steal the property, so it is always considered felony theft. Another type of crime that always gets lumped in as a theft crime is burglary. While people commit burglary to steal things, they can also break and enter a property with the sole intention of hurting someone and not stealing a thing. So when people use theft and larceny, know that theft is the encompassing term of different types of theft, whereas larceny is theft that includes stealing property and never giving it back.

What Are the Different Types of Theft Charges?

A Man Is Stealing a Bottle of Wine From a Grocery Store By Putting it in His Jacket

There Are Different Classifications for Misdemeanor and Felony Theft.

When discussing the types of theft charges there are, there are always the questions of, “How much jail time can you get for felony theft?” “What type of theft is considered a misdemeanor?” Because there are many types of theft, the charges are going to depend on the severity of the crime, the value of the property, as well as the past criminal history of the perpetrator. However, we can always divide charges into misdemeanor and felonies, so knowing what the penalties for misdemeanors and felonies can help you out regardless of what theft crime was committed. The most common types of theft are embezzlement, fraud, shoplifting, grand theft auto, carjacking, robbery, and identity theft, with all of those having the potential to be a misdemeanor or a felony.

So, how much theft is a felony? In the state of Texas, the amount of property that would have to be stolen would be over $1,500.  It’s important to note that sometimes felony theft is referred to as grand theft, but it’s not the most accurate term because some types of misdemeanor theft are considered grand theft. Basically, for it to be grand theft, the amount of stolen property has to be over $950. There are four different types of felony charges for theft in Texas.

  • State Jail Felony: State jail felony is when you steal more than $1,500 but less than $20,000 in stolen property or items. the penalty for a state jail felony is 180 days to two years in state jail, with a fine of up to $10,000.
  • Third Degree Felony: A third-degree felony is when someone steals more than $20,000 but less than $100,000 of stolen property or items. With a third-degree felony, the penalty will be two to 10 years in prison and a fee of up to $10,000.
  • Second Degree Felony: This is when someone steals more than $100,000 but less than $200,000 in stolen property and items. The punishment for this type of felony is two to 20 years in prison, with a fine of up to $10,000.
  • First Degree Felony: With a first-degree felony, someone would have to steal up to $200,000 or more in property and items. The punishment for these theft charges is five to 99 years in prison, with a fine of up to $10,000.

For those who want to know How much jail time can you get for felony theft, it all depends on the amount that is stolen. Moving on to misdemeanors, these types of theft crimes are a lot less severe than felony theft. In some instances, misdemeanor theft is called petty theft, but that is only when the property that is stolen is less than $950. In the state of Texas, there are three types of misdemeanor classifications and penalties.

  • Class C Misdemeanor: When you commit a Class C misdemeanor, it means that property stolen is valued at less than $50. There is no jail time and the fine is of up to $500.
  • Class B Misdemeanor: The property value that needs to be stolen for this type of misdemeanor is more than $50 but less than $500. The penalty is up to 180 days in jail, with a fine payment of up to $2,000.
  • Class A Misdemeanor: Stolen property has to be valued at more than $500 and less than $1,500. Jail time for this type of misdemeanor is one year or less and a fine of up to $4,000.

So do first time offenders go to jail? It will all depend on the value of the stolen property.

How To Get Theft Charges Dropped

When you are looking to getting theft charges dropped, it’s going to work a lot like how they decide on what the penalty will be. What is the value of the property, is it a first-time offense, etc. So can petty theft charges be dropped? Typically, yes, if it’s your first time. Petty theft is property stolen that is less than $950, so if it’s your first time being charged, then there may be a way to drop the charges and go through a diversion program. Felonies are a different story, as someone who commits those types of crime might have a prior history or has stolen property over $1,500. But can you just get probation for a felony? It will definitely depend on the circumstances, but its good to know that with probation there will be restrictions, so people with theft charges need to consider that. 

If you have had a warrant served and you need theft bail in Weslaco, TX for a theft charge, please call Rodriguez Bail Bonds at 956-316-2245.

What Misdemeanor Means

Misdemeanor

While Less Serious Than A Felony, A Misdemeanor Can Have Lasting Effects.

Whether you have been arrested or watch crime shows on television, you may have heard the term misdemeanor before but are not quite sure what it means. There are many different legal terms and phrases that categorize or describe an offense. A misdemeanor is actually a category of offense that is less severe than a felony. It can have penalties of up to a year in jail fines and even probation. However, depending on where you are charged, what class of misdemeanor it is, and where you are convicted, the penalties can vary. A few examples of this charge include:

  • Traffic Violations
  • Threats to Another
  • Perjury
  • Theft

Unlike a felony, if you find yourself facing a misdemeanor charge, you will be able to carry out your jail time in the county jail local to where you had your court case.

Is Misdemeanor a Criminal Offence?

While a misdemeanor is, in fact, less severe than a felony it is still a criminal offense. This can have a long-lasting effect on your record. In order to ensure you are able to prepare for your day in court, it is important that you have your freedom. When you need to get out from jail, Rodriguez Bail Bonds is there to help you. We provide quality bail bonds services when you need them. Have questions? We are happy to answer them and help you get through this tough situation. Give us a call today at 956-316-2245 to get started,

What is Sentencing and Appeals?

Appeal Bail Bonds

An Appeal Bail Bonds Can Help You Work On Your Case.

When facing charges, a lot of work goes into building and enacting your defense. While you may be focused on trying to get the best possible outcome for your case, make sure to also do some research into your options if you end up getting the worst. While this sounds morbid, sparing a thought for what could happen if you are convicted can ensure that you are not without hope and keep you from feeling as though you are lost later. In the event you are convicted, you will have to deal with sentencing and may be able to appeal. The sentencing period will occur immediately after a conviction has occurred. The judge will investigate the details to determine the best sentence for you. After the sentence has been laid down, you have a short period of time where you can appeal, or request for a higher court to review your case in the hope they will overturn the lower court’s decision. The higher court can then hear your case and see if the case can have an appeal based on:

  • Legal Errors
  • Factual Errors
  • Harsh Sentencing
  • Another Determination 

How Does an Appeal Bond Work?

As with most situations, there may be a bail option available to you that will allow you your freedom. This means that you can plan for your day before the appeals court with your attorney if you secure appeal bail. It may be up to the judge whether this is an available option. In order to get a bail bond, you must acknowledge that you have indeed lost your first trial but you are seeking an appeal. From there a bondsman can work with you to take care of your bail. You are then free to work with your attorney and meet for your day in appeals court. Need to get started today with an appeal bond or any of our other bail service? Give us a call today at 956-316-2245 for your bail bonds needs in Weslaco, TX.

What are Texas Bail Bond Conditions?

Conditions of Bail

For Drug Possession Cases, Conditions of Bail Often Include Mandatory Drug Tests.

While bail may not feel like a privilege when the defendant is paying it, it does allow a person accused of a crime to remain free while they await their trial. This free time represents valuable wages and uninterrupted consultation access with your lawyer. However, certain conditions may apply to your bail bond that could cause it to be revoked if you aren’t careful. If you’ve been accused of a crime and have agreed to pay, make sure you also pay attention to conditions of bail set by the judge!

These conditions are set prior to a suspect’s release by a judge or magistrate. Typically, conditions impose a set of guidelines and restrictions on the accused which are designed to maximize the likelihood that the accused will appear at their trial. It also protects victims of the crime and harshly penalizes any relapse in behavior. Some of the most common types of bail conditions include:

  • Not consuming any substances forbidden by law (or court official)
  • Reporting to a probation officer for regular checkups
  • Submitting to a drug or alcohol test
  • (Until the trial) remaining in the state of Texas
  • Remaining a certain distance away from the crime victim

More information about bail conditions can be found in the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. Conditions usually reflect the nature of the crime. For instance, someone caught in possession of marijuana or a controlled substance will probably be ordered to submit to a drug test. Failure to follow the conditions of bail can lead to harsh penalties, bail revocation, and forfeiture of bail.

When is Bail Revoked?

It’s important to note that there is very little grace given for a defendant found in violation of bail conditions. In most cases, when a suspect violates any condition of their bail, the judge will have the defendant’s bail bond revoked and they are immediately returned to jail until the date of their trial. Any bail already paid may also be permanently lost. That is why it is so important to pay close attention to the conditions set by the judge or magistrate and take steps to carefully follow them.

Local Bail Bondsman

If you have been accused of a crime and are in need of a bail bondsman, our team at Rodriguez Bail Bonds are readily available to everyone in Weslaco, TX and the surrounding communities. If you’d like additional information about conditions of bail, feel free to contact our team by calling 956-316-2245!