Each state has their own penalties for drugs, but Texas has some of the most severe penalties. If you or someone you love has been charged with a drug-related crime, it’s important to know what kind of repercussions there are. Depending on the type of drug, the quantity of the drug, past convictions, and other factors will determine the penalty. It’s also important to note that marijuana and other controlled substances are in different types of classes, so they will be treated differently. Below are some of the alcohol and drug penalties in the state of Texas.
Depending on the drug and how much is on your person, the possession of drugs can either be a Class B misdemeanor or a felony. The minimum sentence you can get is up to two years in jail with a fine of up to $2,000, with the maximum sentence being held in the prison for 99 years and a fine of up to $250,000.
Drug Manufacturing and Delivery
The drug penalties in the state of Texas for manufacturing or delivering carry a minimum of up to two years in jail with a fine of up to $10,000 and the maximum is 99 years in prison, but not less than 15, with a fine of up to $250,000.
Because marijuana and other controlled substances are treated differently, they will have different penalties. The minimum you can serve is 180 days to two years in jail with a fine of up to $2,000. The maximum you can get for marijuana possession is 99 years in prison with a fine up to $50,000.
Marijuana delivery has a minimum penalty of 180 to two years in jail with a fine that doesn’t exceed $2,000 and the maximum sentence is 99 years in prison, with a fine up to $100, 000.