Theft is one the most common crimes that we execute bail for in Hidalgo County. The state of Texas classifies theft as either a misdemeanor or felony depending on several factors. Regardless of the classification of your crime, you can be sure that you don’t want to spend any more time in a jail cell than is absolutely necessary. Once we get your call, we immediately begin your bail process so that you can make bail and get back to your life as soon as possible. Remember, the longer you wait to call us, the longer your loved one sits in jail. We are even available 24/7 because we know that an arrest can happen at any time of day or night. Call Rodriguez Bail Bonds now for assistance with theft bail in Weslaco, TX and throughout Hidalgo County.
How Does Texas Define Theft?
The Texas Penal Code defines theft as when someone “unlawfully appropriates property with intent to deprive the owner of the property.” More simply, taking property from another person without their permission or legal justification is considered an illegal act known as theft.
In Texas, theft may be designated as a misdemeanor or felony offense. There are several factors that determine the classification of a crime that are evaluated at each judge’s discretion. Such factors include the monetary value of the property or services that were stolen or even the type of property stolen. Aggravating factors including the presence of a deadly weapon during the commission of the theft and prior criminal convictions can contribute to a longer sentence for a defendant that is convicted of a theft offense.
Misdemeanor theft charges can range from stolen goods or services valued at less than $50 but not to exceed $1,500. Felony theft is any theft of property or services valued over $1,500. Both felony and misdemeanor theft charges are further divided into various classes and degrees with corresponding sentencing guidelines.
Civil Penalties for Theft
Texas also includes enhanced protections for retailers against theft and allows them civil recourse against shoplifters in the Texas Theft Liability Act. The victim of shoplifting, the shop owner, is entitled to recover a monetary award in the amount of actual damages resulting from the theft and a penalty not to exceed $1,000. Texas lawmakers also included a provision in the Act that makes parent liable for any damages caused by minors as a result of shoplifting. However, there is a $5,000 cap, and no financial penalty may be applied to a minor.
Get your theft bail in Weslaco, TX from Rodriguez Bail Bonds and get bailed out fast. We are the leading bail agency in Hidalgo County. Don’t spend another night in jail, call now.