In the course of the last year, many national news media outlets have reported on medical marijuana possession and its legalization within other states. It may be important to stress the following: Marijuana possession is still not legal in Texas. This drug is still considered illegal, and there is still a great deal of debate going on within the federal government regarding its legality. There is still decision factors left up to the states on whether or not to legalize it for medical purposes, however, recently, The US Drug Enforcement Administration listed cannabis as one of the worlds most deadliest drugs.
While there is still a lot of varying laws from state to state, and variances of opinion on the drug itself, here is what you need to know about Texas Law and its stance on marijuana:
- Marijuana is a Schedule I drug, or, it is considered to be a high abuse drug and has no current medical value.
- Penalty for a charge of Marijuana Possession depends, like other drugs, on the amount in which you have on your person at the time of arrest. It can range from less than 2 ounces, which is a class B misdemeanor, 180 days in jail, and no more than a $2000 fine, to more than 50 pounds, which is considered a first degree felony, with no more than 99 years in jail and a fine of $50,000 or less.
- Sale, Cultivation, and Paraphernalia are all also illegal and can land you in jail facing charges. Intent to distribute marijuana is a class A misdemeanor charge.
- Possession of Marijuana and Sale of Marijuana are looked at slightly differently, with possession being slightly more favorable than sale or intent to distribute charges.
While the laws are ever changing and there is a movement to lessen the severity in the marijuana laws, you should always keep updated on the current law and abide them to the best of your ability. Contact us at 956-316-2245 if you need marijuana possession bail today!